Alton Education Association Standing Committees

Professional Negotiations

The professional negotiations committee shall be elected by the general membership. The committee shall consist of 15 members, with one third of the members elected each year to a three-year term. The professional negotiations committee may enlist the advice and services of other individuals, as it deems necessary to function in the best interest of the association. This committee will elect from its committee membership a chief negotiator/chairperson and a negotiating team. Committee member duties include regular attendance at meetings and participation in all assigned duties as needed. If a vacancy occurs, the professional negotiations chair and/or the president can appoint a qualified member to fulfill the remainder of the vacated term.

Bobby Rickman – Chair

School Years 21/22 – 23/24School Years 22/23 – 24/25School Years 23/24 – 25/26
Chris Petrea – High SchoolJason Chapman – NorthSara Carter-Witt – Eunice Smith
Ronica Lansdon – WestTeresa Callies – EastHeather Decker – Middle School
Kem Wiegand – High SchoolRay Greenberg – Eunice SmithNathan Bruns – High School
Jay Jackson – Middle SchoolAmanda Powers – WestAnn Norman – District Offices
Penny Salvato – LovejoyBobby Rickman – High SchoolDerrick Davault – High School


The membership committee shall maintain, in a timely manner, the membership roster, report data monthly to the treasure, representative assembly, and executive committee. The committee will also work to increase union membership of both new and current employees.

Bobby Rickman – Chair

Ronica Lansdon – West

Kara Santoni – Middle School

Emily Lamb – Middle School

Sarah Jones – East


The by-laws committee shall work to educate members about by-laws, report to the representative assembly, update and amend as determined by the membership.

Jay Jackson – Middle School

David Hurley – High School

Christina Krewinghaus – High School

Public Relations

The public relations committee shall be responsible for planning and implementing of the local association.

April Gray – High School

Brian Bergin – High School


Tara Stover (Chair) – Alton Middle

The election committee shall conduct elections per the election guidelines.

Fiona Griswald – High School

Roxanne Neuman – High School

Melinda Johnson – Gilson Brown


The grievance committee shall be responsible for monitoring and enforcing the contract. It shall assist members in the application of the grievance procedure. It may make recommendations whether to arbitrate grievances to the executive committee. The grievance committee shall be appointed by the president with approval of the executive committee.

Chris Petrea – High School

Sick Leave Bank

The committee meets works with the District on application for use of the Sick Leave Bank.

Carla Hilgert (Chair) – High School

Lisa Embrey – East


The committee meets, as needed to agree with administration on upcoming calendars.

Lisa Embrey – East

Amy Hall – High School

Jill Mitchell – Middle School

Haley Hyden


The scholarship committee shall be responsible for the administration of the AEA scholarship fund on a yearly basis.

Marybeth St. Peters Winslow – High School

Racial and Gender Equity

The committee shall be responsible for providing training and resources to help promote inclusion of all individuals, specifically working to improve racial and gender equity.

Sarah Thomas – High School

Sarah Prott – High School

Vicki Schilling – North

Succila Jones -High School

Joint Committee on Evaluations

The committee shall be responsible for receiving input about the evaluation process for staff and meet with the District committee on evaluations.

Bobby Rickman – High School

Edie Banks – North (Special Education/Related Services)

Janice Burgess – West Elementary

Sheryl Malloy – Middle School

Kathryn Dexheimer – High School